Studentu padome
A good student must know how to combine studies with rest and worthwhile leisure activities.

Student council

The Student Council (SC) is a structural unit representing students which cares about the well-being of students, the prosperity of social life, and the representation of students in various commissions, organisations and institutions such as the University Senate, the faculty boards, the Student Union of Latvia, and Ventspils City Council. In addition to representing students and defending students’ interests inside and outside the university, the SC also organises various cultural and educational events and the Education Quality Survey and supports and attempts to realise projects and ideas that students come up with.

The structure of the Ventspils University College consists of the Chairperson of the Student Council, his or her deputy and four committees: the Culture and Sports Committee, the Public Relations Committee, the Social Affairs Committee, and the Studies and Science Committee.

Elections at the university are held every year; student representatives are officially elected, but this does not necessarily mean that other activists cannot participate in the council. Every year, including this year, other people help organise events or take on some permanent responsibilities of the SC. According to regulations, the Ventspils University College Student Council elections should take place by 1 May, but usually they are held between the end of February and the beginning of March.

Chairs of the student council from 1997 to 2015

In the 1997/1998 academic year, the student council was directed by Vents Lasis; in the 1998/1999 and 1999/2000 academic years, by Mārtiņš Lauva; in the 2000/2001 academic year, by Daiga Dābola; in the 2001/2002 academic year, by Kristaps Klauss; in the 2002/2003 academic year, by  Linda Leimante and Gatis Sniedziņš; in the 2003/2004 academic year, by Gatis Mūrnieks; in the 2004/2005 academic year, by Artūrs Šlikaitis; in the 2005/2006 academic year, by Andris Reševskis; in the 2006/2007 academic year, by Līga Brūvele; in the 2007/2008 academic year, by Edijs Jumburgs; in the 2008/2009 and 2009/2010 academic years, by Liene Liepiņa; in the 2010/2011 academic year, by Baiba Vanaga; in the 2011/2012 and 2012/2013 academic years, by Linda Trumsiņa; in the 2013/2014 academic year, by Zanda Zvidriņa; in the 2014/2015 academic year, by Rihards Lankovskis; in the 2015/2016 academic year, by Dārta Ošeniece; and in the 2016/2017 academic, by Oskars Linde.

In the 2017/2018 academic year, the chair of the Student Council is Normunds Rutka,

Would you like to do something for the students and for social life at the university? Join us!